top of page

Deeper Dive: The Chakras - Root

The Root Chakra is the first of the seven primary chakras and as such it serves as our foundation.

Sanskrit Name: Muladhara

Location: Base of Spine

Color: Red

Element: Earth

Sound: Lam

Note: C or C#

Shape: Cube

Planets: Earth and Saturn

Astrological Sign: Capricorn

Crystals: Garnet, Hematite, Smokey Quartz

Essential Oils: Vetiver, Sandalwood

Goddess Archetype: The Goddess Mother

The Root Chakra is the energy center of our basic survival needs and serves as the foundation of our daily lives and our core issues. What makes up our foundation? Things such as basic needs, our home, sense of security, family life, our bodies and how we feel about our physical bodies. I like to think of the Root Chakra as being similar to the base of Maslow's Hierarchy of Needs. We need a strong base in order to know our basic needs and safety are take care of so we can move from surviving to thriving.

When the Root Chakra is balanced, we can enjoy feelings of groundedness, stability, security and stillness. When out of balance, we might experience excessive fear, low energy, or struggles with weight.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

June's Full Moon: Strawberry Moon

As the summer solstice approaches, bringing with it the longest day of the year, the night sky prepares to unveil one of its most poetic and spiritually charged spectacles—the Strawberry Moon. This fu

June 2024: Gemini New Moon - Curiosity and Connection

As the summer breeze carries whispers of change, the night sky of June 2024 prepares to embrace the New Moon in the playful and communicative sign of Gemini. On June 6, 2024, at 6:38 AM MT, we will wi

Enchantment of the Full Flower Moon: May 2024

As the wheel of the year turns and the vibrant hues of spring paint the natural world, we approach a celestial event that has captured the human imagination since time immemorial—the Full Flower Moon


bottom of page